Resetting your to its factory settings is a handy perk to have. However, don’t get the reset function confused with restarting your phone. A factory reset will return the device to the original settings it had when you purchased it. No more customized background, perfectly arranged apps or meticulously planned calendar for you. Nonetheless, there are a few reasons you may want to run a factory reset.
Between clearing up old data to make space, erasing personal data before selling or giving the phone away or simply resetting your phone after a software update, performing a factory reset will restore your phone to the blank slate it was when you purchased it. Before performing a factory reset on your device, make sure you understand the process and what you need to do to make sure your information is safe.
Why Would I Reset My iPhone?
A factory reset is a big commitment, since it means all of your data on your device will be erased, so if you’re considering resetting your phone, make sure you know what you’re getting yourself into. Performing a factory reset is the obvious thing to do before you sell or give away your phone to another person. Without performing a factory reset, the recipient could theoretically access thousands of details of your personal life, even if all of your pictures, text messages, and call logs have been deleted.
If you’re keeping your phone, but just want a fresh start, you may consider opting for a factory reset if you have a bunch of old apps and data taking up space and you’re just ready to start over with your device. The factory reset will remove all data and settings preferences you were used to and your phone will function as it did when you first got it.
Steps To Perform Factory Reset